Kaiser, NorthShore hospitals reach HIMSS Stage 7

The first-ever list of “Stage 7” hospitals is out, and it includes 15 facilities, but just organizations: Kaiser Permanente and NorthShore University HealthSystem, formerly known as Evanston Northwestern Healthcare.

HIMSS Analytics said that 12 Kaiser hospitals in California and all three NorthShore acute care facilities in the suburbs of Chicago reached the top level of EMR implementation on the HIMSS Analytics EMR Adoption Model. That means they are effectively paperless, can share patient data with other organizations by sending standardized electronic transactions and are able to mine their clinical databases for quality improvement.

The Kaiser Stage 7 hospitals are:

  • South San Francisco Medical Center (127 Beds)
  • South Sacramento Medical Center (228 Beds)
  • Sacramento Medical Center (331 Beds)
  • Roseville Medical Center (166 Beds)
  • Modesto Medical Center (220 Beds)
  • Manteca Hospital (77 Beds)
  • Walnut Creek Medical Center (229 Beds)
  • Antioch Medical Center (130 Beds)
  • Hayward Medical Center (200 Beds)
  • Fremont Medical Center (106 Beds)
  • Santa Rosa Medical Center (112 Beds)
  • Irvine Medical Center (150 Beds)

NorthShore University HealthSystem includes:

  • Evanston Hospital (389 Beds)
  • Glenbrook Hospital (143 Beds)
  • Highland Park Hospital (211 Beds)

A cousin of mine is expecting to give birth at Evanston Hospital in late April. I’m happy to know she’ll be in good hands.